Princeton, NJ—March 30, 2016—The International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) announced today the recipients of its 2016 Scientific Achievement Awards. ISPOR is the leading global scientific and educational organization for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR) and their use in decision making to improve health. The ISPOR Awards Program is designed to foster and recognize excellence and outstanding technical achievement in HEOR. The ISPOR 2016 Scientific Achievement Award recipients include:

Avedis Donabedian Lifetime Achievement Award
Pennifer Erickson, PhD is recognized for her outstanding, life-long contribution to the improvement of health outcomes. Erickson is the co-founder and scientific director of the On-Line Guide to Quality-of-Life Assessment (OLGA), State College, PA, USA. 

Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award
Jaime Caro, MDCM, FRCPC is recognized for his extraordinary leadership to the Society. Caro is chief scientist at Evidera, Lexington, MA, USA.

Bernie O’Brien New Investigator Award
Anthony Newall, PhD is honored for his long-standing commitment to training and mentoring new scientists in the fields of outcomes research and health economics. Newall is senior lecturer in health economics at the School of Public Health and Community Medicine, University of New South Wales, Australia.

Value in Health Paper of the Year Award
Ethan Basch, MD, MSc receives this award for his outstanding research paper, Methods for Developing Patient-Reported Outcome-Based Performance Measures, that was published in the June 2015 issue of Value in Health. Basch is a medical oncologist and health services researcher at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, USA.

Value in Health Regional Issues Excellent Article Award
Mônica Viegas Andrade, PhD receives this award for her outstanding research paper, Societal Preferences for EQ-5D Health States from a Brazilian Population Survey, that was published online in Value in Health Regional Issues in March 2013. Andrade is associate professor at the Universidad Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil and at Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA, USA.

Award for Excellence in Methodology in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research
Anirban Basu, PhD is recognized for his outstanding research in the field of health economics and outcomes research methodology. Basu is the Stergachis Family endowed professor and director of the Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA.

Award for Excellence in Application of Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research
Joshua J. Gagne, PharmD, ScD is recognized for his outstanding practical application of health economics and outcomes research in health care decision making. Gagne is assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and a pharmacoepidemiologist in the Division of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA USA.


Posted in Announcements, ISPOR Journals, ISPOR News & Press, Value in Health, Value in Health Regional Issues Tagged with: , , , , ,