Princeton, NJ, USA, July 1, 2015 – The International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) announced the Society’s 2015-2016 Board of Directors. The new officers and directors assume office on July 1, 2015.

The Board of Directors are elected by ISPOR members – over 9,500 global members were given the opportunity to vote for nominated candidates.

MaloneElected by the membership to serve as President-elect (2014-2015), Daniel C. Malone, RPh, PhD, assumes the role of 2015-2016 ISPOR President. Dr. Malone is currently Professor of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy & Associate Professor in Mel & Enid Zuckerman College, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA. Previously he served as the Program Chair for the ISPOR 15th Annual International Meeting in 2010, the Research Excellence Awards Chair, the Chair of the Awards Committee, and as a member of the ISPOR Distance Learning Committee. He has published over 120 peer-review articles and has obtained over $15 million in extramural funds for his research programs.

“I am honored to serve as ISPOR 2015-2016 President at a time of evolution and excitement for our discipline and for our Society,” said Malone. “With a dynamic health care environment, demonstrating the impact on health care delivery is key to what we do. ISPOR has a leadership role in identifying and promoting “best practices” for stakeholder engagement and continues to provide the research on how best to deliver care that is needed.”

GarrisonLou Garrison, PhD, Professor, Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research & Policy Program, School of Pharmacy, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA, will serve as President-Elect 2015-2016. Dr. Garrison served on the ISPOR Board of Directors from 2007-2009. He currently chairs the ISPOR Health Science Policy Council, has co-chaired two Good Practice Task Forces, is the University of Washington ISPOR Student Chapter faculty advisor, has taught ISPOR short courses, and has conducted workshops and lectured across the world.

“The growth in numbers and the geographic and disciplinary diversity of ISPOR over the past 20 years has been phenomenal,” said Garrison. “I am grateful for this opportunity, and look forward to working with our new leadership to further strengthen our reputation for outcomes research excellence as well as our impact on global health.”

Other candidates elected to the ISPOR Board of Directors for two-year terms beginning on July 1, 2015 are:

Directors (2015-2017)
Nancy Devlin, PhD, Director of Research, Office of Health Economics (OHE), London, UK
Manuel Espinoza, MD, MSc, PhD, Professor, Department of Public Health & Chief, HTA Unit, Catholic University of Chile, Santiago, Chile and Honorary Visiting Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York, York, UK
Dana Goldman, PhD, Leonard D. Schaeffer Director’s Chair & Director, Schaeffer Center for Health Policy & Economics, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Returning Board Members are:

Past President (2015-2016)
Adrian Towse, MA, MPhil, Director, Office of Health Economics, London, UK

Treasurer (2013-2016)
Zeba M. Khan, RPh, PhD, Vice President, Celgene Corporation, Summit, NJ, USA

CEO & Executive Director
Nancy S. Berg, CEO & Executive Director, International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR), Lawrenceville, NJ, USA

Directors (2014-2016)
Josephine Mauskopf, PhD, Vice President, Health Economics, RTI Health Solutions, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Yen-Huei (Tony) Tarn, MS, PhD, Executive Director, Center for Pharmaceutical Care Development, Taiwan Pharmacist Association, Taipei, Taiwan
Dominik Tomek, PharmD, MPH, PhD, Senior Researcher, Department of Pharmacoeconomics & Drug Policy, Institute of Clinical & Experimental Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine Slovak Medical University, Bratislava, Slovakia
Karen Worley, PhD, Research Manager, Comprehensive Health Insights, Humana, Cincinnati, OH, USA


Posted in Announcements, ISPOR News & Press Tagged with: , ,